Skip to content
Dx

ICD-10-CM 2027 diagnosis code

S78.921APartial traumatic amputation of right hip and thigh, level unspecified, initial encounter

✓ Billable / specificRequires 7th characterCC — complication/comorbidity

S78.921A is a valid, billable ICD-10-CM code for partial traumatic amputation of right hip and thigh, level unspecified, initial encounter. It can be reported on claims for dates of service from October 1, 2026 – September 30, 2027.Short description: Partial traumatic amp of r hip and thigh, level unsp, init

Code unchanged since ICD-10-CM took effect on October 1, 2015. Source: official FY2027 ICD-10-CM release from CDC/NCHS and CMS. Page updated September 29, 2026. About our data

About S78.921A

S78.921A is the ICD-10-CM diagnosis code for partial traumatic amputation of right hip and thigh, level unspecified, initial encounter. It belongs to category S78 (traumatic amputation of hip and thigh), block S70-S79 (injuries to the hip and thigh) and chapter 19 (injury, poisoning and certain other consequences of external causes). It is billable, so it can be reported on its own for dates of service from October 1, 2026 through September 30, 2027.

The 7th character "A" means initial encounter: use it while the patient is receiving active treatment for the condition.

As a secondary diagnosis it is a CC (complication or comorbidity), which can move an inpatient stay into the "with CC" MS-DRG of its family, unless the principal diagnosis excludes it.

In MS-DRG v44.0, it is part of the grouping logic for DRG 913 (Traumatic Injury with MCC, relative weight 1.5455), DRG 914 (Traumatic Injury without MCC, relative weight 0.9285), DRG 963 (Other Multiple Significant Trauma with MCC, relative weight 2.6363), DRG 964 (Other Multiple Significant Trauma with CC, relative weight 1.4972) and DRG 965 (Other Multiple Significant Trauma without CC/MCC, relative weight 1.0059), in MDC 21 (Injuries, Poisonings and Toxic Effects of Drugs) and MDC 24 (Multiple Significant Trauma), as a principal or secondary diagnosis. The DRG a claim lands in depends on the principal diagnosis, procedures and any CC/MCC secondary diagnoses.

It has been part of ICD-10-CM since the code set took effect on October 1, 2015 and hasn't changed since.

Before ICD-10, this condition was coded in ICD-9-CM as 897.4 (traumatic amputation of leg(s) (complete) (partial), unilateral, level not specified, without mention of complication).

7th character

Ainitial encounter

CC/MCC status for this injury by encounter: CC for A; Neither CC nor MCC for D, S.

Other encounter types for S78.921:

Notes that apply from higher levels

Instructions written at a parent level also apply to S78.921A.

MS-DRG v44.0 grouping

All DRGs →

Inpatient MS-DRGs this diagnosis can group to, as the principal or a secondary diagnosis, depending on the rest of the claim.

ICD-9-CM equivalent

Converter →
  • 897.4Traumatic amputation of leg(s) (complete) (partial), unilateral, level not specified, without mention of complicationapproximate

From the CMS 2018 General Equivalence Mappings (GEMs), the final GEMs release.

Code history

  1. 2016
  2. 2017
  3. 2018
  4. 2019
  5. 2020
  6. 2021
  7. 2022
  8. 2023
  9. 2024
  10. 2025
  11. 2026
  12. 2027
  • FY2016 (effective 10/1/2015): Added (first year of ICD-10-CM)
  • No changes since FY2016.

Common questions about S78.921A

Is S78.921A billable?

Yes. S78.921A is a billable/specific ICD-10-CM code valid for FY2027 (October 1, 2026 – September 30, 2027).

What does the "A" at the end of S78.921A mean?

It is the 7th character for initial encounter. Per the official guidelines, use it while the patient is receiving active treatment for the condition.

Can S78.921A be used as a principal diagnosis?

Yes. The Medicare Code Editor doesn't restrict S78.921A as a principal diagnosis.

Is S78.921A a CC or MCC?

S78.921A is a CC (complication or comorbidity) under MS-DRG v44.0, unless excluded by the principal diagnosis.

What DRG does S78.921A group to?

S78.921A is used in the MS-DRG v44.0 logic for MS-DRG 913 (Traumatic Injury with MCC), MS-DRG 914 (Traumatic Injury without MCC), MS-DRG 963 (Other Multiple Significant Trauma with MCC), MS-DRG 964 (Other Multiple Significant Trauma with CC) and MS-DRG 965 (Other Multiple Significant Trauma without CC/MCC). Which one applies depends on whether it is the principal diagnosis and on the rest of the claim.

What is the ICD-9 code for S78.921A?

The CMS General Equivalence Mappings map S78.921A to ICD-9-CM 897.4.